top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Thunderfoot Lorefield @ Champagne Beach 02/04/22

Updated: May 6, 2022

A few months ago there was a challenge on Facebook where SL performers showed their studios to the world. I followed this, as being a blogger it interested me in what equipment was used by whom, what I could learn from this and well lets face it, it was a voyeuristic journey into the world of others without looking like a stalker. There were some amazing spaces but there was one that blew not only my mind but that of a lot of others and that space belongs to Thunderfoot Lorefield, for he doesn't just have a studio , he has a house full of instruments that just boggles the mind thinking about the wicked jam session he could hold. Far too many for me to list but Thunderfoot tells me amongst other instruments he has 40 stringed instruments and 60 drums .....like SERIOUSLY. I thought I had a lot of toys :))


Now Thunderfoot and I have been FB friends for a while, but had never met until I went to a set of his a while ago at a venue I cant recall, and in my wisdom I decided not to take notes but record instead...nooo Harlow never do again as when I checked a few days later my recording had failed...sighs, I now always makes sure there is a notebook in my handbag.


As luck would have it, tonight I found myself free of SL commitments and saw that Thunderfoot was playing at Champagne Beach, a new venue for me, and lets face it who could pass up the name of that venue, it sounded decadent so throwing on a bikini and a sarong I headed on over. Upon landing I was greeted warmly by the owners Aya and Zen Sobar and as my feet hit the warm sand I took a moment to settle into a spot and look around. Behind me was an open pavillion with wood fire and comfy chairs and in front of me standing in a heart of sea shells, guitar sitting low on his hips was Thunderfoot.


Now I must say that if you are into cookie cutter cover versions of songs then Thunderfoot is not the artist of you, as he is totally his own person throwing his own spin on things and making them uniquely his. He is quirky, he is eclectic, he is a masterful player of many instruments and readily admits, not knowing what will happen next as he doesn't prepare much further than the first song, rather just lets the mood and the vibe of the moment steer him as he goes. He is passionate about the music that he brings to his audience, equally at home accompanied by just a guitar or looping to give you that whole band effect......and who in their right mind loops a fiddle...twice lol.


Thunderfoot performed a wide variety of songs, some that I knew such as Norwegian Wood, Mrs Robison and Here Comes the Sun as well as a few that had me going wtf .....Alien Spaceship and Freakers Ball (I prob have the names wrong there). Throughout his set Thunderfoot just had a blast and there was never a dull moment. The highlight for me was a beautiful blues version of James Taylors 'Steam Roller Blues", I could listen to that instrumental introduction time and time again. Another favourite, and a song that Thunderfoot said that he had recently learned was a stripped back version of The Bangles "Eternal Flame", simply beautiful.


A fun hour spent listening to a man who is comfortable walking to the beat of his own drum.


Thank you Thunderfoot.



bottom of page