top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Raspbury Rearwin @ The Blarney Stone Pub - 02/04/22

Updated: Apr 5, 2022

Every now and again lady luck smiles on you, the stars line up, the world makes another trip around the Sun.. And I wax stupid trying to think of a new way to start a blog. So first I sent a quick message to Trish asking if she could come inworld and join me. Then off I went over to The Blarney Stone because I had to hear a guy that called himself Raspbury and see if his seeds were all in one basket..lol. It was a very good decision.

Let me stop here a moment though and say what a very cool club the Blarney Stone Pub is. Operated by owner, Jane Mercury, it is truly Irish through and through, with a warm and friendly atmosphere and some great memorabilia dotting the walls and bar area.


When Raspbury Rearwin first started his set I thought I was having viewer problems because I couldn't see anyone on the stage. Then I was told "he's the Koala down front with the guitar", which made perfect sense to me by then.

Raspbury started off his set with an acoustic arrangement that when I later asked him what the name of it was, he said oh I was just "noodling" Well let me tell you, we all should be so gifted at "noodling" on a guitar as this guy was! I mean blown away doesn't begin to describe it.


After the "noodling", Raspbury opened to reveal a voice that was equally as good as his guitar playing. He has such versatility in that he can emulate some of the crooners of old, but can also use his great pipes for anything from rock to country and whatever's in between!


His version of "Love Song" by The Cure was a winner in my book and from there he moved on to "Only You" done by Yazoo. Then it was a couple of great rock numbers, "Where the Streets Have No Name," by U2, "Have A Little Faith," an original by Lexus, before switching to an old timer throw back, "I Think We're Alone Now," by Tommy James and The Shondells.


He moved ever so smoothly from song to song, and you could tell he does what he does for the love of it.

There was "Dreams" by The Cranberries (they go well with Rasburys), "Don't You Forget About Me" by Simple Minds and "Ziggy Stardust" made popular by the great David Bowie.

However, the next song had to be my favorite. It was "Hooch" by Everything and he did some vocal sound effects that were absolutely awesome along with that amazing guitar. All of a sudden I had this split sound coming through my headphones and all I could do was say wow, WOW!

He moved on to "Free Fallin" a Tom Petty song, and "Come Undone" originally by Duran Duran.


Just when I thought I'd heard it all, Raspbury began a song by Violent Femmes called "Blister In The Sun" and I can't really describe it except to say I thought Melvin and the Chipmunks had come to do backups. lol I love an artist that can make me laugh as well as entertain. He brings a very human element to his set.


Rasp finished with another oldie called "Someday Soon" by Gordon Vincent.

By this time I was one happy camper and also a very happy fan of Raspbury Rearwin.

I guarantee if you hear him, you will be too.


Bio:

Raspbury Rearwin - Staying as far below the radar as he can, he'll Ninja surprise you with his sultry smooth take on the songs you forgot you loved and a few you never heard before. Gripping originals and covers you won't recognize make for an hour of fun and aural pleasure :)

"eclectically brilliant" -Arc


Raspbury's stream:

http://192.186.136.186:10226

For a preview of some songs you can go here...







bottom of page