top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Noma Falta @ Pemberley 16/02/2022

I can clearly recall the first time that I heard/saw Noma Falta play. It was at Smokestack Lightning Blues many moons ago and she was up after JimmyT. The place was packed to the point of standing room only (which always guarantees a crash for me) with an enthusiastic crowd who had come to see these two legendary performers. What a night it was JimmyT and Noma Falta, the unquestionable King and Queen of SL Blues. I have seen/heard Noma play countless times since that night, her name alone draws a crowd that still fills a sim and guarantees a good time but what I like so much about Noma's sets, (apart from her undeniable talent) is that no two shows are ever the same. Its not like groundhog day where you go along knowing what she is going to sing because she mixes it up constantly, keeping it fresh not only for herself but for her large fan group.


Tonight when I saw that she was playing at Pemberley I decided to tuck my notepad and pen into the back pocket of my jeans and head on over for Pemberely is simply a stunning sim, a photographers delight and well worth taking your time to look around. The stage itself is set in the overgrown ruin of an old building, which could once have been a church if the shape of the empty window frames are anything to go by.


Upon landing I carefully made my way to a spot near the front of the stage, watching where I walked, not wanting to break the heels of my stilettos on one of the many broken pavers in the garden . Settling on a spot I dug the notepad and pen out of my jeans pocket and waited for Noma to start.


Taking to the stage Noma looked striking in her little black dress, the perfect accessory to her red bass guitar and immediately informed those of us gathered that tonight's set would be a little different as she needed to rest her throat some. Noma set the tone of the night starting out with the funky/jazzy FM (No Static At All) by Steely Dan....man I love the sax in this song, Poor Poor Pitiful Me by Warren Zevon but perhaps better known as covered by Linda Ronstadt, Tequila Sunrise by one of my fave bands of all time The Eagles (the song having Noma commenting that they were all so cute lol) Gypsy by Fleetwodd Mac and Dr Wu, another Steely Dan song kept the mellow flowing before Noma decided she would step it up with Shine by Collective Soul, a little rock so we didn't all think that she had lost her mind.


Bonnie Raitt's If I Cant Make You Love Me and Angel From Montgomery by John Pine slowed the pace down again and what exquisite versions they were, I just loved them. Big Bad Handsome Man by Imelda Mays, Keep On Running by The Spencer Davis Group and Midnight In Harlem by Tedeschi Trucks Band had Noma closing out the hour and advising that it was her last show for a few days.


Tucking my notepad and pen back into the pocket of my jeans I headed on home and reflected on the hour that has just passed. Noma does Blues and Rock so well and it's what she is primarily known for singing/playing in SL but I have to admit that I really enjoyed the slower, laid back Noma style as its every bit as good as the Blues Noma. I really hope that she will do a few more of these mellow shows and give people the chance to see this softer side of her and Pemberley is the perfect setting for this.


A thoroughly enjoyable hour. Thank You Noma





bottom of page