top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

GLOwin At Elixir 23/02/22

Yep, I know its been a hot minute since I posted a blog. I've not been totally idle. Much of creative time has been spent on the DTS Float for The American Cancer Society's Mardi Gras event. If you're interested in seeing that you can find it on the ACS 2 sim. Oh, and the outrageously fun DTS First Birthday Party too. Anyway, amongst all that, this past week I was invited to the amazing Elixir Venue to hear a debut show. If you haven't visited Elixir, add it to your list! The desert oasis, meets Roman ruins, meets seaside fishing village vibe is unique in SL. While you're there, don't forget to checkout the GIANT cupid statue. In addition hosting regular hour (+/-) singing gigs, Elixir is home a very healthy karaoke / open mic scene. (side note: As a semi-professional music writer in SL, you'd think I know the difference between karaoke and open mic. Sadly, I do not). Most weekdays you find a crowd around, patiently awaiting a turn and the microphone. If you're a budding singer in SL, this is a great place to meet others and stretch you wings.


Tonight, as I mentioned, I was at Elixir for a show, and what a show it was. Debuts are always special events and this one was no exception. GLOwIN Galaxy has been around SL more than a day, and sung regularly at open mics. This was her first "show" and I was delighted to be able to grab a flute of champagne and enjoy some hot music in the cool evening sea breeze. Her first song was John Paul Young's "Love Is In The Air" and from the first note I was impressed with GLOWin's mastery of the microphone, using it to create beauty out of air. Next up was The Carpenters "I Need To Be In Love". Fortunately, I don't need to be in love. A healthy dose of lust generally gets me in as much trouble as I can handle. Next up, just to display her range was "Chasing Pavements" from Adele. I haven't really chased any pavements since that one night in El Paso, all those years ago.


Her next song, was a brilliant delivery of one the most powerful lyrics of discovery and searching for happiness every to make it up the Billboard charts. Survivor's "The Search Is Over" is that cautionary tale that we often find what we need for happiness for closer to us than we ever think (and I would say, most of the time, its actually inside us, but that's a whole other blog on a whole other site). Keeping in her trend of "old people" music GLOWin launched into Diana Ross' "When You Tell Me That You Love Me", a soulful rendition of Gladys Knight and The Pips "You're The Best Thing That Ever Happened To Me" then back to The Carpenters' round 2 with "Top Of The World".


Vaulting forward to the 21st Century GLOwin belted out "A Thousand Years" from Cristina Perri. Displaying her impressive language skills to match her singing skills, GLOwin shared "Corcovado (Quiet Nights And Stars) by Antonio Carlos Jobim. She next sang of the oddest songs in musicdom, "MacArthur Park" by Donna Summer. I mean, FFS, bring the cake in from the rain!!! Seriously?? That's an emotional thing to deal with? GLOWin didn't skip a beat with Melissa Etheridge's "Like The Way I Do" and then "Creep" from Radiohead. Apparently Jesika Wirefly has told her about me. As the end of this magical hour approached we were all wowed with covers of "This Is Me (The Greatest Showman)" by Keala Settle, Billy Joel's song played a EVERY wedding reception in North America, "Just The Way You Are". At the end of this beautiful debut, GLOwin unknowingly took me back to a far simpler time in my life, with an amazing song I'd nearly forgotten. Leo Sayer's "When I Need You". I sincerely appreciate her including this song. It wrapped up a fantastic evening. I hope you'll track GLOwin down soon!


GLOwIN Galaxy will be singing a VARIETY of genres of songs. Wanting a PLEASURABLE experience for ALL, she has picked a range of songs which she feels shows her ability in singing. Usually, her song choices are THEME based, such as singing a 'Story' or choosing a 'Word' to be in each song, or selecting songs of singers she admires. Since a child singing at home, joining school choirs or acapella groups from elementary school through university, her training has been from great teachers, but mostly her LOVE of Music. ALL types of music are greatly appreciated in styles to express feelings. Music is PASSION! Communication is very important to her, "Singing is such a dynamic way of expressing how one feels." Love songs are her favorite, but in what style/genre it is expressed... is the MAGIC! Please accompany her Galaxy of ILLUMINATIONS of Songs with SMILES, LAUGHTER, and enJOYment .....





bottom of page