top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Collin Martin @ LoveKats for the Celebration of Gob 02/04/22


Today was a very special day full of mixed emotions for many in SL as it marked the birthday of Gob Blabbermouth (I so love that name), a friend of many and a familiar face to those involved with the live music scene around the grid. Gob sadly passed away in January of this year and while she is deeply missed by those that knew and loved her, she is remembered with smiles and laughter and so to honour not only Gob's birthday but the woman that she was Love Kats owner Kat Chauveau held a celebration for those that wanted to mark this special day and pay their respects. The event went into early evening with a stellar line-up of NeoMaximus, Aaron Cabott Jones, JimmyT and Collin Martin all taking to the stage to do what they do best, bring people together through music.


I didn't know Gob personally but we always said hi when we saw each other at shows and her comments in local never failed to make me chuckle and as I hadn't heard Collin Martin before I headed on over to pay my respects and take in the last hour of the celebration. Many friends and familiar faces were in attendance and as I found a spot on the crowded dance floor I took the time to look around saw that as always Kat had decorated Love Kats beautifully. There were balloons galore, rose petal hearts beneath a neon sign that read "Miss You Gob: and a picture frame that held a slideshow of memories of Gob was set up on the stage.


As Collin stood on the stage looking out at the large crowd that had gathered throughout the day, he encouraged all of Gob's friends to open up her IMs and read through them as he had done with his earlier and before launching his set off with The One I Love by R.E.M Collin shared a few of their conversations saying how they made him laugh.


When Collin sang Cold by Chris Stapelton (a song that he advised Jimmy T told him to learn) I messaged my good friend and fellow blogger Spike saying "Get over here, this guy is sooo good). Chris Stapelton is a favourite artist of mine, he has the raspy voice with blues inflections and the way Colin sang it, it was so gut wrenching and full of emotion that I felt chills run up and down my spine. This man is all that and then some.


Throughout his set Colin showed just how versatile a performer he is as he mixed it up with a variety of songs, playing both his acoustic guitar and singing to tracks. His versions of War Pigs by Black Sabbath and In Case You Didn't Know by Brett Young (a song I first heard sung by Jimmy T and quickly fell in love with) were simply sensational and a highlight of the night for me. Note : Spike has videoed Collin's version of In Case You Didn't Know so you can hear it for yourself.


As the night came to a close and Colin finished up with Ride On by AC/DC a song that he said Gob always requested and he always sang for her I messaged Kat to ask if she had a pic of Gob that she could pass me to use in the blog. Kat advised me to talk to Lea who was Gob's bestfriend, and Lea was more than happy to oblige, not only with a pic but with some words about the lady who she misses dearly.


Lea Shilova "She was awesome...one of the best friends anyone could ever ask for....she was there for me when my sl/rl husband passed away in 2019....if it hadn't been for her, El and Anna....I don't think I'd have even come back to SL. Gob was so easy to like...I think everyone that met her instantly liked her.....she starts out shy and quiet when you first meet her...but once you get to know her....you'd never be able to shut her up. She was from New Zealand and loved AC/DC....lol....read romance books and loved her kids and grandkids....at her rl memorial service....she had them play "highway to hell" that is so like her. She was a great person...and anyone who was able to spend even just a little bit of time talking to her....just loved her to pieces."


Thank you Lea.


I would also like to point out that the artists and venue tips for the event went to The American Cancer Society


Vale Gob, you may be gone but your friends will make sure you are never forgotten.







bottom of page