top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg

Alsund @ The Shack at Sunset Beach 25/2/22-part 2

I’m coming off of a pretty happy evening! As most of you know, it was Droppin The Stream’s one year anniversary 2/24! Yeahhh! So, we had a pretty good birthday bash and raised quite a bit of money for cancer. The singers were fantastic, hosts were marvelous, the venue beautiful, the atmosphere electric, and, of course, the fans donating were amazing! - I decided to continue my celebration today out into the real world and did some shopping – sweaters, jeans, and you know, girly stuff. Upon returning, I logged into this world and found my Neo blogging a two-hour set of singer Alsund. Neo says, “Trish, come hear this guy -he’s fantastic.” I told him I had plans of blogging another singer so I could only stay a few minutes. Well let me tell you my friends – I could not leave this venue. Alsund is amazing!! He has that manly mesmerizing voice that sucks you right in from the beginning and gives you a certain warm homey feeling like roast beef, hot rolls and apple pie. Neo then says, “Trish, you blog his second hour”, and I was so happy he suggested that!


The Shack on Sunset Beach is owned by Alsund and Poppy (poppy.threebeards). I have met some pretty great people here in SL but these two I can describe as genuine. They made me feel very much at home, and their conversations flowed like we had been friends for a very long time. Alsund tells me that Poppy is responsible for the design of the lovely venue they have created, and he is only responsible for the balloons lol. The Shack is just that – a shack. It’s a beach setting with palm trees, sand, tiki umbrellas, sand chairs and a cute wooden stage. Oh, and of course, a shack is in the back rustic as can be.


Alsund sang many songs of which I am so familiar with. Neo and I played the game with each other of who could guess the title first and dang it, somehow, he always wins! Alsund started out his show with country artist Dolly Parton’s song, “Joline”, followed was “How Long” by Charlie Puth, then “No One” by the Beatles. Alsund made me wonder what he was thinking when he sang two songs in a row about dreams: “Meet Me on the Corner” by Lindisfarne and “Dreams” by Fleetwood Mac. Next time I see Alsund, I’m going to have to pick his brain to see what those dreams are all about that he has going on. LOL


Alsund sings all his songs live while playing acoustic guitar, and this is the type of entertainment The Shack prefers. All live with no back tracks at all. I must say he does it well. His voice is loud, and crystal clear with magical tones that transition us from country to pop to rock etc. He does it all. In between his songs he banters with the audience and has quite a sense of humor.


More of his tunes were: “Take Me Home Country Roads” by John Denver, “Buy Me a Rose” by Kenny Rogers, “Black Magic Woman” by Santana, “Ain't No Sunshine” by Bill Withers, “Autumn Leaves” by Eva Cassidy, “Unchain My Heart” by Joe Cocker. Unchain was my request because I love to hear how the different artists sing it, and I must say Alsund blew it out of the water!! I was very pleased. “While My Guitar Gently Weeps” – Beatles, “See the Sun – Dido, “Pale Rider” - The Heavy Horses, “Mad World” - Gary Jules, “I kissed a girl” - Katy Perry – (Alsund says this is his happy song he likes cherry chapstick and for some reason that makes him happy hummmm) and “You're No Good” - Linda Rondstadt and “To Make you Feel my Love” – Adele.


For his final song, Alsund sang an original. It’s called “Bridge of Dead Bouquets”. I thought to myself – what a strangely beautiful song, so I had to ask him about it after his show. He gave me the background of how this song came to be created. Alsund is from the UK, and there is a bridge there called the Newcastle Tyne Bridge. Apparently, many people commit suicide from this bridge. One day Alsund was released from the hospital after having a procedure and was stuck in the traffic. He could see aligned along the bridge were many, many bouquets from family and friends in remembrance of people who ended their lives there. Some of the bouquets were fresh, some were dead. So, when he was able, Alsund picked up his guitar and wrote a song of this bridge.


Please folks if either you are or know of anyone suffering from depression, anxiety, or any other mental distress, reach out for help. Talk to a friend, relative or clergy; there are suicide prevention numbers in every city, and there is no shame in asking for help. We are all in this crazy world together and we can all help each other if we only know one needs the help. Suicide is final, and it also leaves behind many grieving friends and relatives.


Bio:


ALSUND performing his tunes for us. The Geordie singer has been part of duo in real life for many years and is ready to the second life circuit. Playing his trusty guitar in his studio (aka garage) he chuckles his way through great songs like Jolene and I'm Only Happy When I'm Miserable. Come along and sing, hum and chuckle along with the brilliant Al. Remember you heard him at the Shack first!





bottom of page