top of page
Untitled design (1).jpg
New DTS.jpg
  • Writer's pictureNeo

Alsund @ The Shack at Sunset Beach 25/2/22-part 1

It was 11am slt, and since I had a little time on my hands, I thought I would check out the music scene in events to see what was on tap. There were a few artists I had heard before, but one that I hadn't, so I thought I'd take a hop over to The Shack at Sunset Beach to hear a guy named Alsund.


You know how you can land at a place and right away you get a feeling about it. Well, the Shack was one of those. This club is in a beach setting, with areas to sit and chill, a small shack (hence the name) in the background and a roomy dance floor. Best of all a "come on in, make yourself at home" place run by owners Alsund and his lady, Poppy who are friendly and welcoming.


The Shack is a club totally dedicated to live music played live by the artist. And to that end, they are always looking for singers and musicians to feature.


Getting right down to it Alsund took the stage and began his 2-hour set (more to come on that) with "Your No Good" by Linda Ronstadt. I was duly impressed by the clarity of his vocals and the great guitar! He followed that with "Stainsby Girls" by Chris Rea. In between some of his songs, I discovered what a great sense of humor Al has as well as really good interaction with his audience. He educated us on the words "Synchronicity" and "Dyslexia", that is after he got his tongue wrapped around em. lol


Getting back to the music, his "I want to do bad things with you" by Jace Everett had that same deep throaty quality that made that song so famous. Al did a couple of Springsteen tunes, "Cover Me" and "Dancing in the Dark" and also a long time favorite of mine, Elvis Costello's "Dance Me to The End of Love." Love that song and his rendition was flawless!


I could comment on so many of the songs Alsund did because they were all so well done. I think the last one though gave me the little pause for thought. As I listened to Al do such an amazing job with this song, the lyrics of "Sometimes She Forgets" by Travis Tritt, struck me how all of us have made promises to ourselves in moments of disappointment, hurt or pain.... but then someone comes along...and we forget. In my case it was that "right someone." I hope it is for you.


Now in a two-hour set you have to know there were a ton of songs. So, a bit into his set Trish arrived in world and I called her and said, "You need to come and hear this guy." I tp'd her in, and we soon decided to do the whole set but in a part one, part two blog. Trish, take it away....





bottom of page